The First Eighteen Chapters

The TrueNorth Greater Cedar Rapids Open was co-founded in 1999 by close friends Jim McPartland and Mark Lemon. It is Iowa’s second largest professional golf tournament, second only to The Waterloo Open, which has been Iowa’s largest since 1934.
  • More than 1,900 golf professionals and more than 1,200 amateurs from 40¬†states and three continents have teed it up in the Greater Cedar Rapids Open
  • Approximately 22 charitable organizations have become beneficiaries of the Greater Cedar Rapids Open and have received more than $150,000 in contributions to date
  • The total “Corridor Economic Impact” from the first 18 Greater Cedar Rapids Open tournaments is estimated at more than $15 million to date
  • An estimated 4,000 golfers have played in approximately 44 Greater Cedar Rapids Open Pro/Am events
  • Approximately 16,000 spectators have watched and followed the careers of the aspiring professional golfers who have played in the Greater Cedar Rapids Open
  • Two former Greater Cedar Rapids Open champions have gone on to win PGA Tour events. Cedar Rapids’ own Zach Johnson (2001 GCRO champ) has won 12 PGA Tour events in his career, including the 2007 Masters and the 2015 British Open. Derek Lamely (2005 and 2008 GCRO champ) won the PGA’s Puerto Rico Open. Former Greater Cedar Rapids Open competitor George McNeill has won twice on the PGA Tour and has made over $11 million on tour. And in April 2016, Brian Stuard, who finished fourth in the 2007 GCRO, won the PGA’s Zurich Classic in New Orleans for his first career win. He has won over $6 million in his career.
  • More than 1,700 volunteers and Hunters Ridge community homeowners have helped host and carry out this event